Sexual harassment violates an individual's basic civil rights, undermines the integrity of the workplace, and adversely affects workers and clients whether or not they are direct subjects of harassment. Sexual harassment is a form of discrimination on the basis of sex and is, therefore, prohibited in the work place by both state and federal law, as well as the collective bargaining agreements between the State of Vermont and the Vermont State Employees' Association, Inc. It is also unlawful to retaliate against an employee for filing a complaint of sexual harassment or for cooperating in an investigation of sexual harassment.
Unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors, and other verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature can all constitute sexual harassment when:
- submission to or rejection of this conduct explicitly or implicitly affects an individual's employment;
- unreasonably interferes with an individual's work performance; or,
- creates an intimidating, hostile or offensive work environment.
For More Information
If you are a State of Vermont employee and would like more information about sexual harassment or would like to file a complaint of sexual harassment, please contact your department's HR Administrator, your supervisor, or the State Workforce Equity and Diversity Officer, in the Department of Human Resources Labor Relations Division at (802)828-2972.
Other Resources:Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
1 Congress Street
Boston, MA 02114
Complaints must be filed within 300 days of the adverse action. Vermont Attorney General's Office
109 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05609-1001
Complaints should be filed within 300 days of the adverse action. Vermont Human Rights Commission
14-16 Baldwin Street
Montpelier, VT 05633-6301
Complaints must be filed within 360 days of the adverse action. Vermont State Employees' Association, Inc.
155 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05601