VSEA/State of Vermont

Application to Elder Care Cost Reimbursement Program
(Please read guidelines before completing application)

Please type or print clearly and answer all questions:

Name of Applicant

Employee ID# Department

Email Address

Mailing address:

Work Phone

The amount of reimbursement you are requesting: $ (minimum $50-maximum $500)

The name, address, date of birth and your relationship to the family member who will benefit from this
grant request.

Please provide a description of this request.
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VSEA/State of Vermont
Application to Elder Care Cost Reimbursement Program (continued)
Return this application with the following:

Documentation of expenses incurred such as, photocopy of receipts, canceled check or receipt from the
person paid for the service in the format:

I received $ from for services. Signed and dated.
The employees name must be on all receipts.

All application materials will be held in the strictest confidence.

I certify that the above information and the information attached are accurate.

Employee's Signature Date

Important Change

Due to new payroll guidelines given to the committee, the reimbursement is no longer a non-taxable
grant. You will receive your reimbursement in your paycheck with taxes deducted at your payroll tax
level. If you have questions about this change, please contact the payroll division.

Please mail completed application
via the U.S. Postal Service to:

VT/VSEA Child & Elder Care Committee
P.O. Box 105
Huntington, VT 05462

If you have any questions, please contact one of the
VT/VSEA Child & Elder Care Committee members listed below

Tina Bohl Charlene Compo Dave Clark
VTRANS Human Resources Administrator
tina.bohl@vermont.gov charlene.compo@vermont.gov dbc@gmavt.net
David Henderson Anne Rada

Public Safety DCF

dhenders@dps.vermont.gov anne.rada@vermont.gov
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VSEA/State of Vermont
Elder Care Cost Reimbursement Program Guidelines

What is This Program?

This program offers financial assistance to Vermont State employees for their elder care expenses. The
funds are made available as a result of the labor/management agreement between the State and the
VSEA. This initiative is the result of employee surveys and feedback on elder care and elder care
assistance. Comments are most welcome.

What Kind of Elder Care is Eligible for Reimbursement?

Reimbursement will be available for State employees who spent at least $50 dollars for elder care for
immediate family members who were aged 62 or older. Immediate family members are: spouse, civil
union partner, parents, grandparents, siblings and in-laws.

Elder care items eligible for reimbursement include but are not limited to: respite care, LifeAlert, home
modification, ramp installation, safety bars, door widening, rental or purchase of medical equipment,
transportation to medical appointment or needed medical services, housekeeping (contracted services),
etc. Items not on this list will be considered by the committee. Items not eligible for reimbursement
are: nursing home care, medical/dental bills, eye glasses, hearing aids, medications and hospital bills.

Who is Eligible?
A State employee who:

e Is employed at the time of the application
e Has finished their original probation
e Is scheduled to work at least 20 hours per week

Note: This includes limited service employees, but does not include temporary employees or contract
workers

How Will the Program Work?

Interested and eligible employees must first apply. After receiving the application, the committee
overseeing the reimbursement fund will ensure that the application meets all guidelines. Funds will be
dispersed on a first come, first served basis.

All application materials will be held in the strictest confidence.

When Should I Apply?

Completed applications can be sent in any time during the year. The last date to return completed
applications for the program year is no later than December 31.

Page 1 of 2



When Can | Expect a Response to my Application?

Upon receipt of a complete application, the applicant will be notified. This is not an indication of an
accepted application. Questions regarding the application or its status will be sent to the applicant via
email or the U.S. Postal Service. All applicants will receive a response, and if approved reimbursement
within 2 months.

How Much Can | Expect to Get Back?

Reimbursements will be affected by the number of applicants. The maximum reimbursement per
household per year is $500 before taxes.

Please mail completed application
via the U.S. Postal Service to:

VT/VSEA Child & Elder Care Committee
P.O. Box 105
Huntington, VT 05462
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