Dear State of Vermont Employee,

Amidst the constant change over the past several weeks, state employees continue to serve Vermonters and fulfill the important functions and operations of government. I again thank you for your continued service to the state. Your important work is truly appreciated.

## Paid Leave:

First of all, the paid leave for State of Vermont employees unable to work for reasons arising from the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic has been extended to May 9. While any employee who is able work will be expected to do so, employees unable to work due to self-isolation, COVID-19 related illness and the closure of schools/daycares will continue to be paid per the provisions outlined below.

The newly adopted Families First Coronavirus Response Act was signed by the President on March 18. This law provides new paid leave benefits to certain employees in response to the current COVID-19 pandemic. The legislation does two things:

- First, it amends the Family Medical Leave Act to provide paid leave for a qualifying need related to a public health emergency.
- Second, it creates a new Emergency Paid Sick Leave benefit for employees impacted by certain COVID-19 situations.

These new paid leave benefits are available to state employees who qualify, and a Notice issued by the United States Department of Labor summarizing the new law is posted on the <u>DHR website</u>. Please note that this Notice does not reflect the enhancements provided by the State described below.

The State will provide <u>enhanced</u> Emergency Paid Sick leave benefits by expanding the number of hours provided from 80 to 200 hours (prorated for part-time employees) and paying <u>100%</u> <u>of regular salary</u> regardless of the limits otherwise set forth in the federal legislation.

## Carry Over:

The Executive Branch also negotiated provisions allowing unused Prior Year Compensatory Time and Supervisory Personal Leave to be carried over for use for an additional year. As a result, this leave will not be subject to pay off or loss this July.

## **Premium Pay:**

In addition, payment of a \$1.50/hour per actual hour worked premium for employees:

- Working in the AHS 24/7 Facilities Correctional Facilities, VPCH/MTCR, the Juvenile Rehabilitation Center formally known as Woodside; the DOC P&P Offices; and VVH
- Other AHS employees when they have direct, in person, face to face contact with a member of the public on an hour for hour basis
- In VSP when they have direct, in person, face to face contact with a member of the public on an hour for hour basis

Finally, a 20% Premium paid on an hour for hour basis for hours actually worked by employees who are assigned to work in facilities providing care to a COVID-19 positive population or those who are required to deal directly with a COVID-19 positive individual.

## Time Sheet Coding and Other Information:

More specific instructions on coding your time sheets for leave related to COVID-19 and the premium pay above will be posted on the DHR website and distributed in the near future.

These enhancements, including the carry-over of unused leave, have also been extended to Designated Managerial and Confidential Classified employees, as well as, eligible Temporary employees and Exempt employees following a leave plan.

This agreement ensures State employees will continue to have financial stability if they are unable to work due to COVID-19 and enables the State to continue to evaluate new federal statutes.

In the meantime, if you have any questions or are experiencing a circumstance related to COVID-19 necessitating leave, I strongly encourage you to contact your <u>Human Resources</u> <u>Business Partner</u> for further assistance.

Be Well,

Beth

Beth Fastiggi | Commissioner | Vermont Department of Human Resources 120 State Street | Montpelier, VT 05620-2505 | Main: 802-828-3491